As soon as I saw the jambalaya post at PaleOMG, I knew I would have to make it in short order.  The only ingredient I had to buy was the andouille sausages (turns out I forgot about the green pepper), so I just had to find time to make it.  I ended up taking the day off work today, as I wasn’t feeling too hot when I woke up, and decided that I would tackle it today.

I think I should get a gold star for following step one to the letter:

Mise en Place

See that red pepper?  Yeah, that’s because I forgot to buy a green one.  I also had intended to buy a head of cauliflower, but since I sort of decided to cook this at the last minute, I decided the frozen bag I had would work fine…and I was right. The recipe was really easy to put together once all the chopping was done.

Jambalaya!

My jambalaya looked a little “wetter” than the picture over on the main blog post, but I think I might have had less cauliflower to soak up the juices.  It’s worth noting that when I went to put the leftovers away, the pan was drier.  I didn’t mind though.  It was very tasty!  I cut the thyme to a 1/4 of a teaspoon, cos that’s how I roll, but I kept the rest of the spices the same.

I can’t seem to get good pictures with the lighting in my apartment but here I am all served up:

Yum!

I think I will add shrimp next time, maybe even when I have some of the leftovers!  I would definitely make this again – although there’s a lot of prep work involved, it doesn’t actually take that long to cook.  I think this could be a weeknight dinner presuming you had everything defrosted when you got home from work.  It’s dishes like this that make me wonder why everyone doesn’t eat paleo!  There’s not a whole lot of fat in this dish, which I think is the only drawback, but that’s easily achieved in other ways.

