Tags

, , , ,

So I decided I needed a nice dinner tonight – I might be a leperous singleton, but this was a stupid day for me for at least 3 reasons and I concluded I deserved decent food.

I started with a ribeye and some shrimp:

Aww yeah!

This was simple to do – it involved a ridiculous amount of butter, which I will not apologize for.  I cooked the steak “restaurant style” – melted a half a stick of butter in a cast iron skillet on high heat, cooked each side for about 3 minutes, then stuck it in a 400° oven till the middle came to “medium” temperature. Topped with Kerrygold butter. Delicious – and no, I didn’t eat that whole thing!  The shrimp were cooked in butter (surprise!), garlic, and some Old Bay.  Yum.

I had designs on making a cheesecake tonight, but I really could NOT be bothered to make that mess.  So I came up with something else.

"Cheesecake"!

I sliced up strawberries and make a topping for them.  I could have refrigerated the mixture so it would have been more firm, but do you see the title of this post?  Yeah, my laziness (and desire to consume this dish) won out.  Here’s how I did it!

Primal Cheesecake Topping

4 oz cream cheese, room temperature
1/4 c sour cream
1/4 c heavy cream
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp raw honey
1/2 tsp vanilla*

Mix all ingredients together with a whisk or electric mixer.  Serve over fruit.  Or eat with a spoon. This is a no judgement zone.  Refrigerate first if you prefer a more solid cheesecake topping – at room temperature it was like a nice creamy custard.

* I used Penzey’s Double Strength Vanilla for this, so if you like a real vanilla taste, double the amount to a full teaspoon, or if you prefer your cheesecake with less vanilla taste, use a 1/2 of regular strength vanilla.

I hope at least one other person enjoys this sorta-recipe!  This is enough for 2 servings.  I just started with half a block of cream cheese since I didn’t quite know what I was doing when I started out.

