Tags

So, I made a shopping list for today, intent on going to the grocery store.  Then I thought about what I had in the freezer.  I have quite a bit of meat in there!  And vegetables too.  Quite a few, actually.  I know it’s not totally ideal to use frozen vegetables, but I’m on a budget and they’re still tasty!  I really need to get that stuff out of there, namely to save money by eating food I’ve already bought!  My habit is to go to the grocery store and buy fresh stuff “to cook tonight” and then I’ll supposedly stay on top of things and take something out of the freezer for the next day or something…yyyyeah, that’s not working out quite how I planned.  So, I’m going to focus on getting stuff out of that freezer and saving myself from large bills at the store for a while.  I’ll stop for ingredients like garlic and onions, or tins of tomatoes, depending on what I’m cooking though.  It’s the meat that drives up the bill anyway!

I wanted to blog about a new recipe I tried tonight – but it was a big fat failure.  I sort of blame the recipe, but I hate when I don’t follow my instincts.  I had an inkling that it couldn’t work out the way the author wrote it down, but I wanted to trust them more! Turns out I needed to nearly double the wet ingredients and I STILL didn’t get the consistency the recipe stated.  So I ended up with cookies instead of cake.

I have had a sudden inspiration to lift more weights.  I could start going to the gym in the mornings for free.  I’m so torn on this though.  I hate showering there and I’m not sure I have the wherewithal to come home to shower (I’m probably about 10 mins away).  Weights aren’t as sweat inducing as cardio, so I could shower and then go, but then there’s the breakfast conundrum.  Last time I did this, I wasn’t paleo and I would keep granola and yogurt in the car…or stop for a bagel on the way in to work.  Ugh.  I could try going on my way home, but work has been kicking my ass, both mentally and physically.  I come home and need to fall face-first on the bed for 15 minutes before I even START to feel human.  I need something to change…lifting should help with the endorphins right?  I just hate to be standing there looking like a jerk though – I would so much like to have a trainer, but until I get a new job, this is NOT a possibility.

