Tags

, , , , , ,

I LOVE Japanese food.  LOVE IT.  I adore sticky white rice, the sauces, the fishes and meats, all those strong flavors.  Most of all, I love gyoza though.  They’re like little packages of tasty, flavorful joy.  Just like with pizza, a grain-free girl needs alternatives.

When I came across the Skinless Gyoza video on Mark’s Daily Apple (link to text recipe), I was very intrigued!  If you haven’t seen the video, it’s really a nice demo of the recipe. If you’re going to make this recipe on a weeknight, I’m going to disagree with the lovely gentleman and say, it’s ok to be a wimp if you want to use a food processor.  It’s a lot of chopping and sometimes you just don’t have the time or patience to do it.  Hey, if you’re cooking fresh, real food from scratch, I think we can allow ourselves a couple of shortcuts!  I made a few modifications based on my personal preferences.

I made this recipe twice and the second time was much better – here’s my pro tip: don’t crowd the pan.

This is probably the most I would advise at one time.  They come out so much better when they’re not sweating from being too close together. I fried mine in bacon fat. Mmmm.  I got about 40 gyoza.  I wanted to count them, but I was too distracted by eating them as soon as they were cool enough while I cooked the rest.  Don’t judge me!

Here are my finished gyoza:

Yes, some of mine fell apart!  I think I should have just taken a bit more time to work the meat – they should hold together before cooking.  In fact, if you let them rest for a few minutes, they’ll hold together even better before adding them to the pan.  I think it would make a really tasty stir fry if you didn’t have the time or inclination to roll out 40-50 gyoza.  I would probably just slice the cabbage, rather than chop it up if I were to make it as a stir fry.  I also used rice wine vinegar for the dipping sauce this time.  The balsamic was lovely but on this night I really wanted a more authentic (at least as I’ve been acquainted with Japanese cuisine) flavor.

Bottom line, I love these.  I will admit I miss the burst of liquid from inside the dumpling skin that you get with traditional gyoza, however, this is ALL flavor and I didn’t miss this sensation after the first bite or two.  Both days that I heated up the leftovers at work, I got compliments from my co-workers because they SMELLED SO GOOD!

